Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


July 12, 1991
Sub Pop
Pop/Rock, Grunge, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative Metal, Riot Grrrl, Heavy Metal

Album Review

On 1991's Smell the Magic, L7 begins to find the sense of melody to complement its distorted punk guitar assault. The band deserves ultimate praise for writing from a completely female perspective at all times, and the fabulous "Fast and Frightening" just might be the ultimate "riot grrrl" anthem. "Shove" pleads the case for mosh pit etiquette, while "Just Like Me" demands equal rights (and vices) for male and female rock stars. The self-mocking "Broomstick" celebrates any "rock & roll hags" accusations with a sense of humor. "'Till the Wheels Fall Off" is another standout, thanks to its relentless descending riff, and points the way toward the band's breakthrough album, Bricks Are Heavy.
Eduardo Rivadavia, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Shove
  2. Fast and Frightening
  3. (Right On) Thru
  4. Deathwish
  5. 'Till the Wheels Fall Off
  6. Broomstic
  7. Packin' a Rod
  8. Just Like Me
  9. American Society
purchase full album