Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


October 14, 2008
Country, Soul, Country-Pop, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan, Blue-Eyed Soul, AM Pop

Album Review

Bobbie Gentry's eerily beautiful, ornate, and almost gothic approach to country music means there's never really been another artist quite like her, and this disc, which pairs 1967's Ode to Billie Joe, her debut album, with 1969's more pop and polished Touch 'Em with Love, offers plenty of that uniqueness. The opener, "Mississippi Delta," is raw, energetic, and raggedly funky. "Papa, Won't You Let Me Go to Town with You" is so desperately bright that it's easy to overlook the fact that Gentry, who is a wonderful songwriter, has painted an amazingly detailed portrait of a young girl's hopes and dreams. Then there's the creepy, eerie, and absolutely fascinating "Bugs." At the other end of the rainbow, Gentry gives a sleek, sultry shine to "I Wouldn't Be Surprised," which has an aching orchestral sweep. Mostly known for the left-field success of "Ode to Billie Joe," a brilliant song that's part riddle and part a family character study, Gentry had a lot more than just that song in her back pocket, as these two LPs show. Raven Records has added seven bonus tracks, including B-sides, a Spanish-language version of Gentry singing the Beatles' "Here, There and Everywhere," and three duets with Glen Campbell from the lone album the two did together.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Mississippi Delta
  2. I Saw an Angel Die
  3. Chickasaw County Child
  4. Sunday Best
  5. Niki Hoeky
  6. Papa, Won't You Let Me Go to Town with You
  7. Bugs
  8. Hurry, Tuesday Child
  9. Lazy Willie
  10. Ode to Billie Joe
  11. Touch 'Em with Love
  12. Greyhound Goin' Somewhere
  13. Natural to Be Gone
  14. Seasons Come, Seasons Go
  15. Glory Hallelujah, How They'll Sing
  16. I Wouldn't Be Surprised
  17. Son of a Preacher Man
  18. Where's the Playground, Johnny
  19. I'll Never Fall in Love Again
  20. You've Made Me So Very Happy
  21. Scarlet Ribbons [*]
  22. The Girl from Cincinnati [*]
  23. You and Me Together [*]
  24. Let It Be Me [*]
  25. All I Have to Do Is Dream [*]
  26. Walk Right Back [*]
  27. En Todas Partes [Here, There and Everywhere][*]