Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Heartland Rock, Bar Band, Rock & Roll

Album Review

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers spent much of 1986 on the road as Bob Dylan's backing band. Dylan's presence proved to be a huge influence on the Heartbreakers, turning them away from the well-intentioned but slick pretensions of Southern Accents and toward a loose, charmingly ramshackle roots rock that harked back to their roots yet exhibited the professional eclecticism they developed during the mid-'80s. All of this was on full display on Let Me Up (I've Had Enough), their simplest and best album since Hard Promises. Not to say that Let Me Up is a perfect album -- far from it, actually. Filled with loose ends, song fragments, and unvarnished productions, it's a defiantly messy album, and it's all the better for it, especially arriving on the heels of the well-groomed Accents. Apart from the (slightly dated) rant "Jammin' Me'" (co-written by Dylan, but you can't tell), there aren't any standouts on the record, but there's no filler either -- it's just simply a good collection of ballads ("Runaway Trains"), country-rockers ("The Damage You've Done"), pop/rock ("All Mixed Up," "Think About Me"), and hard rockers ("Let Me Up [I've Had Enough]"). While that might not be enough to qualify Let Me Up as one of Petty & the Heartbreakers' masterpieces, it is enough to qualify it as the most underrated record in their catalog.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Jammin' Me
  2. Runaway Trains
  3. The Damage You've Done
  4. It'll All Work Out
  5. My Life/Your World
  6. Think About Me
  7. All Mixed Up
  8. A Self-Made Man
  9. Ain't Love Strange
  10. How Many More Days?
  11. Let Me Up (I've Had Enough)
purchase full album