Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


October 04, 1994
Hannibal Records
Folk, Folk-Rock, British Folk-Rock, Psychedelic, British Folk, Progressive Folk, Baroque Pop, Pop

Album Review

Compiled by Nick Drake's producer, Joe Boyd, Way to Blue features a selection of 16 tracks from all three Drake studio albums and the Time of No Reply collection. Of course the music is excellent, but Drake's albums stand so well on their own that this collection of piecemeal offerings doesn't quite work as the best way to experience his distinctively haunting brand of folk-rock. Though a good starting point, ultimately it will only whet your appetite for the highly recommended, four-disc Fruit Tree box, which contains his complete catalog.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Cello Song
  2. Hazey Jane I
  3. Way to Blue
  4. Things Behind the Sun
  5. River Man
  6. Poor Boy
  7. Time of No Reply
  8. From the Morning
  9. One of These Things First
  10. Northern Sky
  11. Which Will
  12. Hazey Jane II
  13. Time Has Told Me
  14. Pink Moon
  15. Black Eyed Dog
  16. Fruit Tree