Brody Jackson

Saturdays 8PM-Midnight

 

RELEASE
April 22, 1997
LABEL
MCA
GENRES
Rhythm & Blues, Contemporary R&B

Album Review

The hype that surrounded Mary J. Blige in the beginning was simply ridiculous. When What's the 411? was released in 1992, she was exalted as "the new Chaka Khan"-- a definite exaggeration, considering how uneven that debut album was. But Blige did show promise, and by the time she recorded her third album, Share My World, she had developed into a fairly convincing soul/urban singer. Her strongest and most confident effort up to that point, Share had much more character, personality, and honesty than most of the assembly line fare dominating urban radio in 1997. For all their slickness, emotive cuts like "Get to Know You Better," "Love Is All We Need," and "Keep Your Head" left no doubt that Blige was indeed a singer of depth and substance. Although high tech, the production of everyone from R. Kelly (with whom she duets on the inviting "It's On") and Babyface to Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis doesn't come across as forced or robotic, but, in fact, is impressively organic. With Share My World, Blige definitely arrived.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Introhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/intro/id282741?i=282585&uo=5
  2. I Can Love Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-can-love-you/id282741?i=27580356&uo=5
  3. Love Is All We Needhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-is-all-we-need/id282741?i=27580393&uo=5
  4. Round and Roundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/round-and-round/id282741?i=27580406&uo=5
  5. Share My World (Interlude)http://itunes.apple.com/album/share-my-world-interlude/id282741?i=282699&uo=5
  6. Share My Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/share-my-world/id282741?i=282701&uo=5
  7. Seven Dayshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/seven-days/id282741?i=282709&uo=5
  8. It's Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-on/id282741?i=282714&uo=5
  9. Thank You Lord (Interlude)http://itunes.apple.com/album/thank-you-lord-interlude/id282741?i=282716&uo=5
  10. Missing Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/missing-you/id282741?i=282721&uo=5
  11. Everythinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everything/id282741?i=27580442&uo=5
  12. Keep Your Headhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/keep-your-head/id282741?i=282723&uo=5
  13. Can't Get You off My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cant-get-you-off-my-mind/id282741?i=282733&uo=5
  14. Get to Know You Betterhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/get-to-know-you-better/id282741?i=282735&uo=5
  15. Searchinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/searching/id282741?i=27580465&uo=5
  16. Our Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/our-love/id282741?i=282737&uo=5
  17. Not Goin' Cryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/not-goin-cry/id282741?i=282739&uo=5
purchase full album