Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


February 03, 1969
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, AM Pop, Country-Rock

Album Review

Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons, and Kevin Kelley all left the Byrds in wake of the release of Sweetheart of the Rodeo, leaving Roger McGuinn to assemble a new band from scratch. Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde, the first album with McGuinn as unquestioned leader (and sole founding member), was an interesting but uneven set that saw him attempting to bring together the psych-tinged rock of the group's early period with the pure country that Parsons had brought to Sweetheart. The new lineup on this album was as strong as any the band would ever have, with guitarist Clarence White sounding revelatory whenever he opens up, and Gene Parsons and John York comprising a strong and sympathetic rhythm section. But while everyone on board was a great musician, they don't always sound like a band just yet, and the strain to come up with new material seems to have let them down; McGuinn contributes a few strong originals (especially "King Apathy III" and "Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man," the latter written with Parsons before his departure from the group), but the two songs he penned for the movie Candy are just short of disastrous, and the closing medley of "My Back Pages" and "Baby What You Want Me to Do" sounds like padding. Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde proved there was still life left in the Byrds, but also suggested that they hadn't gotten back to full speed yet.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. This Wheel's on Fire
  2. Old Blue
  3. Your Gentle Way of Loving Me
  4. Child of the Universe
  5. Nashville West
  6. Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man
  7. King Apathy III
  8. Candy
  9. Bad Night at the Whiskey
  10. Medley: My Back Pages/B.J. Blues/Baby What You Want Me to Do
  11. Stanley's Song [*]
  12. Lay Lady Lay [Alternate Version][*]
  13. This Wheel's on Fire [Version One][#][*]
  14. My Back Pages/B.J. Blues/Baby What You Want Me to Do [Alternate Take]
  15. Nashville West [Alternate Version][Alternate Take][#][*]
purchase full album