Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


June 22, 2004
Rhythm & Blues, Dance-Pop, Urban

Album Review

Morris Day is back 12 years after his last new record, but It's About Time isn't entirely new. It's mostly live with a couple new tracks, the excellent partnering with the quirky-cool rapper E-40 for "In My Ride" being the best. Day's goofy-sexy swagger is still believable, and when playing old Time tunes the band re-creates the perfect Prince production fairly well. Too bad the whole show wasn't included and it's odd that the curse words are edited. Editing the vulgarities makes you wonder who Hollywood Records perceives as Day's audience, but the label brought the swaggering joker back to the home stereo and hardcore fans should thank them for that.
David Jeffries, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Bird [Live]
  2. Jungle Love [Live]
  3. Gigolos Get Lonely Too [Live]
  4. Cool [Live]
  5. Ice Cream Castles [Live]
  6. Get It Up/777 [Live]
  7. Girl [Live]
  8. Fishnet [Live]
  9. Ain't a Damn Thing Changed
  10. In My Ride
  11. Two Drink Minimum
  12. Last Night
purchase full album