Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


January 25, 2005
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Rock & Roll, Doo Wop, Harmony Vocal Group

Album Review

Billy Ward played piano behind his Dominoes for quite a while before he ever stepped up to the microphone and used his own voice. Ward managed the group, composed most of its material, and organized the instrumental accompaniments. The anchor in the vocal department was originally basso Bill Brown, often relegated to the background but heard out in front at his very best on "Chicken Blues," "I Am with You," "Love, Love, Love," and the infamous, sexually explicit "Sixty Minute Man," the first popular hit containing lyrics describing a 15-minute orgasm. The group's star tenors, of course, attracted the most attention, first Clyde McPhatter, then Jackie Wilson, and eventually Gene Mumford. This excellent collection documents the early recordings made by the Dominoes for the Federal label. Some of these records really rocked and soon helped to inspire others to rock. The slow, ruminative numbers dwell upon romance, heartbreak, and loneliness but seem also to touch upon a sanguine existential potency usually associated with gospel and the blues. To put it more simply, this disc is packed with some fine and soulful singing. Ward himself is believed to have made his first appearance as lead tenor on the final track of this compilation, "Where Now, Little Heart," recorded in June of 1953. Who played guitar? Who blew on the sax? There's just no telling. And it might not matter. What's important here are the Dominoes, one of the baddest vocal groups of the 1950s, widely imitated but for all intents and purposes, unsurpassed.
arwulf arwulf, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Chicken Blues
  2. No Says My Heart
  3. Do Something for Me
  4. Weeping Willow Blues
  5. Sixty Minute Man
  6. Harbour Lights
  7. I Can't Escape from You
  8. That's What You're Doing to Me
  9. I Am With You
  10. Love, Love, Love
  11. Don't Leave Me This Way
  12. These Foolish Things
  13. Deep Sea Blues
  14. Have Mercy Baby
  15. When the Swallows Come Back to Capistrano
  16. No Room
  17. I'd Be Satisfied
  18. Pedal Pushin' Papa
  19. The Bells
  20. I Ain't Gonna Cry for You
  21. I'm Lonely
  22. Yours Forever
  23. You Can't Keep a Good Man Down
  24. Where Now, Little Heart
purchase full album