Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


April 12, 2005
Pop/Rock, Americana, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Pop

Album Review

Micah P. Hinson and the Gospel of Progress is the debut album from the Texan singer/songwriter, who has often been favourably compared with fellow lo-fi troubadours Bright Eyes and Mark Lanegan. Its emotionally charged 13 tracks were penned during a battle with drug addiction, a stint in the county jail and a period of homelessness, which explains his world-weary, older-than-his-years vocals. Produced by alt rock three-piece the Earlies, the 2004 release includes the single "Beneath the Rose."
Jon O'Brien, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Close Your Eyes
  2. Beneath the Rose
  3. Don't You, Pts. 1 - 2
  4. The Possibilities
  5. As You Can See
  6. At Last, Our Promises
  7. I Still Remember
  8. The Nothing
  9. Stand in My Way
  10. Patience
  11. You Lost Sight on Me
  12. Caught in Between
  13. The Day Texas Sank to the Bottom of the Sea