Today's Country

The best Country music in the World!


November 15, 2005
Jazz, Sweet Bands, Big Band, Swing

Album Review

Will Bradley's legacy is largely built on the work he did between 1939 and 1941, which corresponds with his collaboration with drummer and singer Ray McKinley. McKinley was one of the era's best and most dynamic big band drummers, and with Bradley's unassuming but solid trombone skills, plus Fred Slack's explosive piano playing, the Will Bradley Orchestra developed a patented boogie/swing style on hits like the two-part "Beat Me Daddy (Eight to the Bar)," "Scrub Me Mama (With a Boogie Beat)," and the smooth, easy "Celery Stalks at Midnight," all of which are included here. A rare trio outing with Bradley, McKinley, and Slack on the fun, loose "Down the Road a Piece" is a particular delight. Bradley was never much of a publicity hound, so he isn't probably as well known as he should be, but the music speaks for itself. A great set.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Beat Me Daddy (Eight to the Bar), Pt. 1
  2. Beat Me Daddy (Eight to the Bar), Pt. 2
  3. There I Go
  4. As Long as I Live
  5. I'm Tired of Waiting for You
  6. The Love Nest
  7. Prairieland Lullaby
  8. (What Can I Say) After I Say I'm Sorry
  9. Bounce Me Brother with a Solid Four
  10. High on a Windy Hill
  11. Hallelujah!
  12. Celery Stalks at Midnight
  13. Break It to Me Gently
  14. The Lonesome Road
  15. Mean to Me
  16. Flying Home
  17. Down the Road a Piece
  18. Scrub Me Mama (With a Boogie Beat)
  19. Think of Me (Theme Song)
  20. Call Me a Taxi